---
title: "Restrict changes for planning in the past"
canonical: "https://help.fieldbuddy.com/space/FBDOCS/6478528518/Restrict%20changes%20for%20planning%20in%20the%20past"
format: markdown
---
> ℹ️ This feature was introduced in version 1.147.36. For planning it’s turned off by default and for smart planning it is turned on by default.

Up until version 1.147.36, users of the Dispatch Panel could make changes to the schedule even on days that have already happened. The same was true of Smart Planning. As a result we introduced two new settings that can restrict changes in the past from being made and only be displayed in a read-only mode.

![image-20251114-124720.png](media://8baf8a05-1406-4661-9b54-0b3b2728fdcb)

The new settings that were introduced can be found in Configuration Panel → Dispatch Panel Settings → Settings → Access Settings.

![image-20251117-085606.png](media://9fb9806b-06b0-49ca-8734-af108ddc7858)

The section has been expanded with two new settings. *Editable Interval* controls how far into the past changes can be made. When set to any number, the setting will take effect and any date before this number of days will be non-interactive.

> 📝 For example, if the setting is set to **6 days** and today is **Monday the 10th**, the schedule will be still editable for the **current date - 6 days**, so **Tuesday the 4th**, but **Monday the 3rd** will already be **read-only**.

*Users with Full Editing Access* overrides this setting for selected users and allows for full control at any date. If the Editable Interval value is deleted completely, all users will be able to edit appointments on any date same as if they were included in the Full Editing Access picklist.

Another setting was added in the Smart Planning configuration. *Allow optimization of schedule in the past* is **disabled by default** on all environments. This means that it will not be possible to start a new Smart Planning job for any date in the past.

If it is enabled, meaning scheduling Smart Planning jobs in the past is possible, the Smart Planning form will still respect the previous setting and only allow the scheduling to be done no more than the configured amount of days in the past.