---
title: "How to move Swift Configuration from Sandbox to Production"
canonical: "https://help.fieldbuddy.com/space/FBDOCS/4690968723/How%20to%20move%20Swift%20Configuration%20from%20Sandbox%20to%20Production"
format: markdown
---
# What is Swift Configuration

Configuration consists of 2 big JSONS — Configuration (Screens and parameters for Swift app) and Briefcase (describes which data is returned to mobile app). That can be viewed/edited via Configuration Editor (inside [https://upperdeck.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FBDOCS/pages/5365268532](https://upperdeck.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FBDOCS/pages/5365268532) ).  


![image](media://1ed69188-f8b9-4bfa-9ca3-390950085e78)

# How to move configuration between environments

1. Identify which configuration should be copied from source environment. Ensure that all the Fields that were added in source, exists in target  environment (production) and are accessible to end users via profiles/permissionsets
2. Create new configuration in Production org
3. Copy Briefcase value from sandbox to Production and click Save
4. Copy Screens (Configuration value) from Sandbox to Production and click Save
5. Give Meaningful description (what was changed) for future reference.
6. Activate newly created Configuration in production (menu dropdown in the left of a Config name)
7. Then you can assign Configurations to an End Users (via Assignment tab on the right) for newly created configuration ([https://upperdeck.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FBDOCS/pages/4940955674](https://upperdeck.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FBDOCS/pages/4940955674) )
8. Configuration is created. In order for end users to receive that, it is necessary to ask them to logout/relogin OR create hard sync actions (only for users that have configuration assigned). [https://upperdeck.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KNOWOLD/pages/4898291876](https://upperdeck.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/KNOWOLD/pages/4898291876)

# How check whether Config is in user’s device

Check status of Configuration Assignment in right panel. if it is Active → it was assigned, but if it is Assigned → user did not perform hard sync yet, so configuration assignment can still be changed (assigned to new config for example or deleted)

# Tips and Hints

1. Validate configuration feature can be useful to check Briefcase/Configuration for an errors. Briefcase should not have any errors at all. Configuration might have errors like missing labels on (sometimes) invalid custom object names or fields (like sublocation). But that might indicate in case if Fields are referenced in Configuration and either not referenced in Briefcase or do not exist in org
2. Always delete configurations that are not used via Configuration Editor (status is changed to archived)
3. Meaningful notes will allow you to be remembered with warmth in hearts of fellow colleagues and FieldBuddy Team support department in  few months after changes. Therefore please always add/change those.